Alan Hollinghurst
The Sparsholt Affair

A rare treat to hear from the Man Booker Prize-winning writer Alan Hollinghurst. The Sparsholt Affair is his sixth novel which opens in the early days of the Second World War as Britain’s cities are being bombed, and it unfolds into a panoramic survey of class, sexuality and desire in the second half of the century.


Alan Hollinghurst is the author of five previous novels, The Swimming-Pool Library, The Folding Star, The Spell, The Line of Beauty and The Stranger’s Child. He has received the Somerset Maugham Award, the James Tait Black Memorial Prize for Fiction and, in 2004, the Man Booker Prize.


With thanks to






Join our mailing list

Festival Programme