Catherine Taylor and Margaret Drabble | The Stirrings

Sun 21 Apr 2024 | 12:00pm - 1:00pm

Catherine Taylor and Margaret Drabble
Catherine Taylor - The Stirrings

Writer Catherine Taylor and novelist Margaret Drabble each grew up in Sheffield. Join them as they meet to discuss an extraordinary memoir of anger, protest, and coming of age in Northern England in the 1970s and 80s: Taylor’s remarkable book The Stirrings. From the Yorkshire Ripper to the nuclear threat and Miners’ Strike, don’t miss the chance to be transported back in time by this haunting memoir. 


Venue: Old Divinity School

Duration: 1 hour

Choose your tickets:

In-person tickets:
Old Divinity School
  Catherine Taylor & Margaret Drabble | The Stirrings Full Price
12pm | Sunday 21 April | Old Divinity School
  Catherine Taylor & Margaret Drabble | The Stirrings Concession (U25s, unwaged, and those feeling the pinch)
12pm | Sunday 21 April | Old Divinity School
    Total: £0
Please wait...
Oops! Something went wrong. Please try again.

Author biography

Catherine Taylor was born in Waikato, Aotearoa New Zealand, and grew up in Sheffield, South Yorkshire. Formerly publisher at The Folio Society and deputy director of English PEN, she is now a freelance writer, critic, and editor. Her essays have appeared in Granta,  Aeon, and the collection Trauma: Art and Mental Health (Dodo Ink, 2021). She edited The Book of Sheffield: A City in Short Fiction (Comma Press, 2019), chosen as the 2020 Big City Read by Sheffield Libraries. Catherine Taylor lives in London. The Stirrings is her first book. 

Chair Biography

Margaret Drabble is a novelist, biographer and critic. Born in Sheffield, she read English at Newnham College, Cambridge. She became an actress and worked for the Royal Shakespeare Company at Stratford-upon-Avon before her first novel, A Summer Birdcage, was published in 1963. Her many other novels include The Garrick Year (1964); The Millstone (1965), winner of the Mail on Sunday/John Llewellyn Rhys Prize; and Jerusalem the Golden (1967), winner of the James Tait Black Memorial Prize. Her most recent novel is The Sea Lady (2006).  

Drabble is also the author of biographies of Arnold Bennett (1974) and Angus Wilson (1995) and is editor of both the fifth (1985) and sixth (2000) editions of The Oxford Companion to English Literature. She is a former Chairman of the National Book League (1980-82), and was awarded the CBE in 1980. She received the E. M. Forster Award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters in 1973, and holds honorary doctorates from the universities of Sheffield (1976), Manchester (1987), Keele (1988), Bradford (1988), Hull (1992), East Anglia (1994) and York (1995). 

Her latest books are the memoir, The Pattern in the Carpet (2009), in which she looks at her own life, the history of games and the delights of puzzling and A Day in the Life of a Smiling Woman (2011), a collection of short stories.