Ian McEwan | Lessons

Sun 20 Nov 2022 | 6:00pm - 7:00pm

Ian McEwan
Ian McEwan
Lessons - Ian McEwan

Ian McEwan returns with an ambitious, mesmerising new novel, Lessons. Lessons is a chronicle of our times – a powerful meditation on history and humanity told through the prism of one man’s lifetime.

Spanning the Suez and Cuban Missile Crises, the Chernobyl disaster and the Berlin Wall’s fall through to our modern era marked by pandemics and the climate crisis, master storyteller Ian McEwan’s new novel Lessons asks powerful questions about how early experiences, love, friendship and global events shape our lives.

In conversation with festival honorary patron David Runciman.


Venue: Cambridge Union

Duration: 1hr

Choose your tickets:

In-person tickets:
Cambridge Union
  Ian McEwan - Full Price In-person ticket - Full Price £15
  Ian McEwan - Concession In-person ticket - Concession
As a charity we are offering concessions to under 25s, unwaged & those feeling the pinch.
    Total: £0
Please wait...
Oops! Something went wrong. Please try again.

Author Biography

Ian McEwan’s works have earned him worldwide critical acclaim. He won the Somerset Maugham Award in 1976 for his first collection of short stories First Love, Last Rites; the Whitbread Novel Award (1987) and the Prix Fémina Etranger (1993) for The Child in Time; and Germany’s Shakespeare Prize in 1999. He has been shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize for Fiction numerous times, winning the award for Amsterdam in 1998. His novel Atonement received the WH Smith Literary Award (2002), National Book Critics’ Circle Fiction Award (2003), Los Angeles Times Prize for Fiction (2003), and the Santiago Prize for the European Novel (2004). Atonement was also made into an Oscar-winning film.

In 2006, Ian McEwan won the James Tait Black Memorial Prize for his novel Saturday and his novel On Chesil Beach was named Galaxy Book of the Year at the 2008 British Book Awards where McEwan was also named Reader’s Digest Author of the Year. Solar won The Bollinger Everyman Wodehouse Prize for Comic Fiction in 2010 and Sweet Tooth won the Paddy Power Political Fiction Book of the Year award in 2012. Ian McEwan was awarded a CBE in 2000. In 2014 he was awarded the Bodleian Medal.

Chair Biography

David Runciman– a professor of politics at Cambridge University and the author of several books, including How Democracy Ends.