The Baillie Gifford Prize Winner

Sun 20 Nov 2022 | 7:30pm - 8:30pm

Baillie Gifford Prize longlist
Baillie Gifford Prize Longlist

The Baillie Gifford Prize rewards excellence in non-fiction writing and celebrates the best in intelligent reflection on the world.

We are delighted to welcome the winner of this year’s prize three days after the prize is announced.

Previous winners include Patrick Radden Keefe, Hallie Rubenheld, Philippe Sands and Craig Brown. The shortlist will be announced on 10 October and the winner on 17 November. 


Caroline Elkins Legacy of Violence: A History of the British Empire
Andrea Elliott Invisible Child: Poverty, Survival & Hope in an American City
Jonathan Freedland The Escape Artist: The Man Who Broke Out of Auschwitz to Warn the World
Thomas Halliday Otherlands: A World in the Making
Daisy Hay Dinner With Joseph Johnson: Books and Friendship in a Revolutionary Age
Sally Hayden My Fourth Time, We Drowned: Seeking Refuge on the World’s Deadliest Migration Route
Matt Rowland Hill Original Sins: A Memoir
Anna Keay The Restless Republic: Britain Without a Crown
Polly Morland A Fortunate Woman: A Country Doctor’s Story
Scholastique Mukasonga
Translated by Jordan Stump
The Barefoot Woman
Katherine Rundell Super-Infinite: The Transformations of John Donn
Jing Tsu Kingdom of Characters: A Tale of Language, Obsession, and Genius in Modern China

Venue: Baillie Gifford Stage at the Old Divinity School

Duration: 1hr

Supported by

Choose your tickets:

In-person tickets:
Baillie Gifford Stage at the Old Divinity School
  The Baillie Gifford Prize Winner - Full Price In-person ticket - Full Price £12
  The Baillie Gifford Prize Winner - Concession In-person ticket - Concession
As a charity we are offering concessions to under 25s, unwaged & those feeling the pinch.
    Total: £0
Please wait...
Oops! Something went wrong. Please try again.

Author Biography

To follow on 17 November.